Located on the QEII corridor, Lacombe County is located approximately 120 km from Edmonton and 160 km from Calgary. The County stretches 100 km east to west along Highway 12 from prairie fields to Boreal Forest and is home to many lakes – large and small.

The County’s economic base stems from its robust and diverse agricultural and industrial activity, including significant petrochemical activity in the Joffre and Prentiss areas. With numerous post-secondary institutions nearby, including Burman University, and Red Deer Polytechnic, the County boasts a skilled and educated labour force.

Agriculture is the single largest land use in our municipality, representing 95% of the County by area.  In recent years, Lacombe County has seen significant growth in agribusinesses in Lacombe County. From greenhouses to canola crushing to craft malting & brewing, to specialty farms and country stores selling local products – we are here to support your value-added agricultural venture.

Lacombe County also boasts a variety of recreational amenities: beaches, lakes (Sylvan Lake, Gull Lake and Buffalo Lake), trail systems (including a portion of the TransCanada Trail), parks, natural areas, ski hills, and golf courses. Visit Lacombe Regional Tourism for an in-depth look at the area, local events, and activities. www.lacombetourism.com. Our urban partners highlight a rich and interesting part of Alberta’s history, as well as delicious and unique restaurants, shops and breweries. You’ll definitely need a few days to explore all that Lacombe County has to offer!!

Lacombe County boasts a popoulation of approximately 10,000 residents in just under 3,000 square kilometres.

  • Municipalities within Lacombe County
    • Lacombe
    • Blackfalds
    • Clive
    • Eckville
    • Bentley
    • Alix
  • Summer Villages
    • Summer Village of Gull Lake
    • Summer Village of Sunbreaker Cove
    • Summer Village of Birchcliff
    • Summer Village of Half Moon Bay
  • Hamlets
    • Morningside
    • Haynes
    • Joffre
    • Mirror
    • Tees
    • Rosedale Valley

The Lacombe Region is rich in culture and heritage and home to vibrant communities with a strong sense of their past. Landmarks such as the Michener House, Flatiron Building, and Blacksmith Shop Museums, the Pico House and Wadey House are permanent highlights for their history, local importance and architecture. The region has many museums, public murals, and charming historic downtowns and Main Streets. Lacombe County was incorporated on January 1, 1961.